New Pool

Over $500,000 Pledged to New Pool

L-R: Seated, Martha Shea, Don Jobe, Mary Lou Hertel.
1st row, Art Hildebrand, Mike Froman, Shelly Lunsford, Marcia Lambert, Angie Nobbe, Micki Strohmeier, Beth Foster and Joan Lohrey.
2nd row, Beth Brown and Sharon Dance. Back row, Brian Harpring, Mike Biltz, and Daryl Zimmer

In a brief ceremony at the town hall last Tuesday, three groups donated or pledged to donate over $500,000 toward a new Aquatic Center in Brookville, Indiana. Town Council President Mike Biltz and the organizing committee for the new Brookville Aquatic Center accepted the pledged funds as a good start to raising the donations needed to get the project underway.

The Brookville American Legion Auxiliary presented a check for $1,000. Mary Lou Hertel represented a group that many years ago raised money for a skateboard park in Brookville. The group found that interest in a skateboard park had waned and they decided that the new aquatic center was a good use for the idle funds. Ms. Hertel presented a check for $4,400. And, the Brookville Foundation pledged $500,000.

From a press release, “The Brookville Foundation has pledged to provide $500,000 as a dollar-for-dollar matching grant to the “Something for Everyone” campaign to be used for the construction of the proposed new aquatic center designed by the Aquatic Center Committee. The funds pledged by the Brookville Foundation were provided by a bequest to the Brookville Foundation under the Will of Robert J. Hofer. The generosity of Mr. Hofer evidenced his love for the Franklin County community and his desire to have the fruits of his labor returned to benefit future generations. All pledged funds will be collected and administered by the Franklin County Community Foundation.

The Brookville Foundation in its 2018 grant cycle provided an additional $139,000 to several other community projects. The Board of Trustees of the Brookville Foundation are appointed by the Town of Brookville, the Franklin County Community School Corporation and the Judge of the Franklin Circuit Court. The current members are Donald M. Jobe, Brad Tebbe, President Arthur K. Hildebrand, Kim Simonson, Martha Shea and Lowell McMillin. Any questions you may have about gifting to the Brookville Foundation may be directed to any of those members.”

Reported by Terry Duffy